New endeavors…

As you may have noticed, the look of my blog is changing because I’ve been in the process of revamping this baby.  It’s a work in progress, but here’s your progress report:

Living as a Catholic young adult in the world is a demanding lifestyle, definitely worthy of some guiding points.  Christ said, “If any man would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.  For whoever would save his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” (Matthew 16:24-25)  Contrary to popular belief, this is the combination not just for “following Christ” but for the freest, most-lived-up-life you can have.

Young adults between the ages of 21 and 39 are the face of a unique time in the Church.  Never before has the marrying age been older for adults and never before has there been so many opportunities for professional and educational development.  Due to these, and other factors, we have a group of young, faithful people who struggle to find their place in the Church and in the world.  Seemingly “vocation-less” at this age, and with endless possibilities, young adults have capacities that people of this age never had before.  Because education years last longer and marriage often takes place later, there is a virtually commitment-free time of life that all young adults, Catholic or not, face.

As Catholic young adults we are called to be in the world but not of it; we are called to love fiercely; we are called to contribute to our churches, to our communities, and to society at large.  In a culture that seems to advance twenty-nine times as fast as the Church, how are we to be Catholic?  How are we to be in the world but not of it?  How are we to love others?  How are we to contribute?

This blog began as a project, “the literary project,” to work on my writing—an outlet that would kill two birds with one stone.  It would keep me reading good literature and it would keep me accountable to working on my writing skills, aspiring writer that I say I am. Over the past year I’ve been itching to expand the scope of the blog so that I don’t feel guilty every time I write something that is not relevant to a piece of literature.  Here’s my new scope: the young adult’s guide to taking over the world—in Catholic fashion.  I’ll write on a vast array of topics but always with the underlying questions: what does it mean to be Catholic and how are we to be Catholic in the world today? If you have high aspirations for life and the expectation of greatness, but your Catholicly-formed conscience makes you wonder, “How exactly can I achieve/do/be this?” this is the place for you. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

