More Writer’s Block…

Well, finishing Ida Elisabeth left me prey to a deviation from “the list”: The Hunger Games (and book 2 Catching Fire and book 3 Mockingjay).  Although it was published in 2008, The Hunger Games is still consuming readers and I’m sure that many, including myself, are waiting with bated breath for the movie that comes out on March 23.  An ardent believer in the benefits of reading aloud, Jess and I ripped through the Hunger Games in one day–which led to a 3 day (4 day for me–because I had to work) mini-obsession during which we finished all three book and then mourned the loss of reading them. haha. We are cool (and we know it).  I have many thoughts and a written review of it, but you’ll have to hold out for a bit before I can post it here.

I am now the proud owner of the following two items:

and

Probably the best birthday gift ever.  The first attempt at a letter sent my hand into cramps and me into laughter–huge splotches there, thin and barely visible here…anyway, when they say in those Jane Austen novels that they were going to spend the whole morning writing letters, they were not kidding.  The whole present sent me back to thoughts on The Death of Anticipation–it took such patience to write in this way, it fostered the holding of thoughts and focus, it was just…really cool.  And I hope I grow some patience to keep at it.

I’ve had absolute writer’s block as of late.  Clearly.  Maybe had I been reading when I was 3.5 until now consistently I would have something to say, but I got nothing–silence–which I think is okay sometimes.  We live in such a busy, doing, constant culture, but sometimes silence is necessary for growth.

Next week Lent begins and I can’t get this song off my playlist.  Another mini-obsession.  The words toward the middle/end go like this:

I am done with my graceless heart
So tonight I’m gonna cut it out and then restart
Cause I like to keep my issues strong
It’s always darkest before the dawn

Cause looking for heaven found the devil in me

In a way it reminds me of the Lenten season coming up: each year we get this season called Lent (who knows what that even means) where the Church asks us to do weird things like get ashes and not eat meat (what’s the point of the ashes, and what’s meat got to do with being Catholic*?) and we ‘give up’ things for Lent (and some people think it’s okay to cheat on Sundays).

Each year we get the season called Lent, 40 days where we get to decide to be done with our graceless hearts.  We are given ashes to remind us that we will die one day, not too far off in the whole scheme of things.  We are asked to sacrifice in attempts to cut it out and restart.  We are shown a path right now,in the darkest time,  the time before the dawn, which is eternity in heaven. And cause looking for heaven found the devil in me, and it will find the devil in you, we best be getting all the hell out of us.  There is not one ounce of hell, not one slightest act of selfishness, that is permitted in the realms of the Holy of Holies.

SO, on that note, I’ve decided the next book on the list will be Paradise Lost.

*I think there’s a way that everything can have something to do with being Catholic–Catholicism just rocks like that.

 

One thought on “More Writer’s Block…

Leave a Reply

